Home

I stumbled across Atelier Katsumi on FB last night. It’s the work of Katsumi Machimura and I love it! Lovely shapes yes – but check out those surfaces! Amazing!

I love patinas and aged surfaces that show the story of their use and wear, and had thought about bringing those sorts of textures into my work, but A. I wasn’t sure how to do it, and B. it seemed so fake – like “distressing” new wood with bike chains and stain to make it look old. Not what I am into at all.

Somehow Katsuri san avoids any hint of fakeness and produces something fantastic and rich and thought provoking. And the photography is fantastic as well. Sigh….

All images from Atelier Katsumi

Serious inspiration here – it kept me awake for hours last night thinking about it and all the things I want to try as soon as there’s time. Yippee!

Leave a Reply

